David Bowie embraces Technology

Posted 04 Mar 2013 in Artist News, Featured

David Bowie - The Next DayIn a day where many bands scream and yell when it comes to how their music is produced and distributed, David Bowie shows everyone how it’s done and streams his new album “The Next Day” in its entirety on iTunes until its official release.

In his first new studio material since 2003, Bowie let’s us have it with “The Next Day”.  This album features the single “Where are we now” (already available for purchase on iTunes) as well as “The Stars (Are out tonight)”.  As a matter of fact, the video for “The Stars” was just released last week, and is available for viewing below.

The official launch date of the album is March 12 of this year (yes, 2013) and until the launch date, you can listen to the album in its entirety on iTunes, free of charge.  Yes, the entire album.  If you want to listen, give a click right here, or just open iTunes and look for the huge David Bowie The Next Day image.

I personally applaud Davie Bowie for his bold method of releasing his music.  With access to his new material being available for everyone to try out, more people have the opportunity to decide if the music is a fit for them.  It may honestly drive more sales of fans who really do appreciate the content.

One of the interesting tidbits of the new album, it the cover art.  It is a modified version of David Bowie’s 1977 album, “Heroes”.  What does it mean?  By obscuring the original cover, the message is said to portray “forgetting or obliterating the past”.


“The Next Day” comes in two versions, a standard and a deluxe version.  The deluxe version adds 3 additional songs to the playlist.  Speaking of which, here it is:

The Next Day Track List:

Number Track Name Run Time
1 The Next Day 3:51
2 Dirty Boys 2:58
3 The Stars (Are Out Tonight) 3:56
4 Love is Lost 3:57
5 Where Are We Now? 4:08
6 Valentine’s Day 3:01
7 If You Can See Me 3:16
8 I’d Rather Be High 3:53
9 Boss Of Me 4:09
10 Dancing Out In Space 3:24
11 How Does The Grass Grow 4:33
12 (You Will) Set The World On Fire 3:30
13 You Feel So Lonely You Could Die 4:41
14 Heat 4:25
15 So She ** 2:31
16 I’ll Take You There ** 2:44
17 Plan ** 2:34

** Denotes track available only on Deluxe version

And as promised, here’s the video of “The Stars”:



Introduced to good old Rock n Roll at an early age, Jams has spent his life in a love affair with music of all kinds. But as he says, there's nothing else in music to compare to a talented guitarist shredding their axe.

Leave a Reply